Open Book with Sandie Jones

Pack up your beach bag and make sure to include a fabulous book!  Over the next few weeks I will be featuring some perfect reads to accompany you poolside or while you are jet setting the beaches of Capri 😉 First up is the second thriller from Sandie Jones, The First Mistake.  Jones, a Reese Witherspoon Book Club alumni, has a unique way of roping you into an addictive thriller and then taking you on hairpin twists and turns, leaving you speechless.  She is my latest Open Book and from the other side of the pond she has some smashing answers ❤

first mistake

via Amazon ~

From Sandie Jones, the author of the Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick andNew York Times bestseller The Other Woman, comes an addictively readable new domestic suspense about a wife, her husband, and the woman who is supposedly her best friend.

THE WIFE: For Alice, life has never been better. With her second husband, she has a successful business, two children, and a beautiful house.

HER HUSBAND: Alice knows that life could have been different if her first husband had lived, but Nathan’s arrival into her life gave her back the happiness she craved.

HER BEST FRIEND: Through the ups and downs of life, from celebratory nights out to comforting each other through loss, Alice knows that with her best friend Beth by her side, they can survive anything together. So when Nathan starts acting strangely, Alice turns to Beth for help. But soon, Alice begins to wonder whether her trust has been misplaced . . .

The first mistake could be her last.

Praise for The Other Woman:

“One of the most twisted and entertaining plots.”―Reese Witherspoon
“A perfect beach read.”―Kristin Hannah
“Whiplash-inducing.”―New York Times Book Review
“Such fun you’ll cheer [Emily’s] chutzpah.”―PEOPLE
“This thriller will hit close to home.”―Refinery29

Sandie Jones-10

1. What three celebrities/authors/figures- living or dead, would you want to have a bookclub with?

Robin Williams, as I think his mind worked very differently and he would view a book in a way that I couldn’t possibly comprehend. I’d love to have Michelle Obama on board as she seems such a naturally optimistic and positive person, and I’d invite Shakespeare for a little historical context, and I’d be fascinated to know what he would make of fiction writing today!

 

2. Current binge series?

I am obsessed with Killing Eve, not least because of its incredible female leads, Sandra Oh and Jodie Comer, but its writer is Phoebe Waller-Bridge, an amazing British actress/comedian who has taken TV drama to another level. She also stars in Fleabag, which if you’re after quintessential British humour (at its most naughtiest!) is a must-watch.

 

3. Last favorite book?

The Perfect Betrayal by Lauren North. A heart-stopping thriller that reads likes a beautiful love-story of the purest kind.

 

4. What 3 things to you pack in your bag for your dream vacation?  Where is it?

Bikini, sunglasses and a good book to read in the Maldives. (I’ll have to buy the suncream there!)

 

5. Sunday NYT or US Weekly?

As a Brit, I’m unfortunately unfamiliar with both, but if the Sunday NYT is similar to our Sunday Times, I’d opt for that.

 

6. Last person you sent a text message to?

My husband, asking him to get some milk on his way home from work!

 

7. Book you read that you wished you wrote?

I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh. It was the first book in a long time that left me open-mouthed, feeling every gamult of emotion, and reigniting my love of reading.

 

8. Do you have a teacher who encouraged you to become a writer?

I wasn’t a very good student, though English was my favourite, but my teacher Mrs Wrin failed to see any potential in me! The biggest supporter of my writing was my nan, who gave me all the encouragement I needed.

 

9. Do you listen to music while you write? If so, who?

I so want to listen to music, as I think it’s such a romantic idea to write a novel whilst listening to Beethoven, but alas, as soon as I try, my brain stops working and I can’t write a single word. If I was able to though, it would definitely be Elvis.

 

10. Describe your writing space?

I’ve got a lovely room, in my house in London, which overlooks the front garden. It’s not long been done and it has floor to ceiling cabinets in a glossy ebony macassar with a splash of turquoise on cushions. I have pictures of Elvis on the wall and a new whiteboard that I’m supposed to be using to plot, but I actually just like pretending to be a teacher with different coloured pens!

 

11. Coffee or tea?

Tea is the first drink of the day. Coffee from 11am onwards.

 

12. Do you have a favorite book that you gift?

No, I always buy books I think the individual would like, rather than enforce my preferences on anyone!

 

13. Book that you wished they would make a movie out of?

I normally wish that a movie wasn’t made out of a book! I love movies, but if I’ve read the book first I’m often disappointed that its interpretation isn’t the same as mine.

 

14. If you could have one song as the theme song of your life what would it be and why?

(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life by Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes. Dirty Dancing came out when I was 17 and the film and the music had a profound effect on me. Now that I’m nearing 50, I feel qualified to be able to look back and say, I really have had the Time of My Life.

 

15. What/Who inspires you?

Nature and music are the two things that get me fired up. They’re both instant mood changers and bring about a whole new mindset.

 

16. Bravo reality TV- yes or no?

If that’s like our reality TV, then definitely no! I think we’ve reached saturation point and I worry about the effects on the younger generations.

 

17. Favorite Instagram account?

I love @hotpatooties! Dawn O’Porter makes me laugh out loud wherever I am.

 

18. If you could name just one lipstick after a book, what would you call it and what shade would it be? 

The Other Woman and it would be a smutty bright red

 

19. Current #TBR pile?

Whisper Networks by Chandler Baker, The Girl Next Door by Phoebe Morgan and Night by Night by Jack Jordan

 

20. Best advice you’ve ever received?

Don’t take anything too personally. No one thinks about you as much you do.

Follow Sandie:

Leave a comment