Open Book with Gabrielle Korn

I was thrilled Gabrielle Korn participated in my Open Book feature. Her collection of essays, Everybody (Else) is Perfect is an addictive collection of wirings and musings from Korn who is the former editor-in-chief of Nylon Magazine. This read is funny, dark, eye-opening and a voice that needs to be heard today. I am thrilled to have her and highly recommend this book as the perfect cocktail accompaniment with the spring weather in the air! She also has the perfect novel to lipstick pick 🙂

via Amazon ~

From the former editor-in-chief of Nylon comes a provocative and intimate collection of personal and cultural essays featuring eye-opening explorations of hot button topics for modern women, including internet feminism, impossible beauty standards in social media, shifting ideals about sexuality, and much more. 

Gabrielle Korn starts her professional life with all the right credentials. Prestigious college degree? Check. A loving, accepting family? Check. Instagram-worthy offices and a tight-knit group of friends? Check, check. Gabrielle’s life seems to reach the crescendo of perfect when she gets named the youngest editor-in-chief in the history of one of fashion’s most influential publication. Suddenly she’s invited to the world’s most epic parties, comped beautiful clothes and shoes from trendy designers, and asked to weigh in on everything from gay rights to lip gloss on one of the most influential digital platforms.

But behind the scenes, things are far from perfect. In fact, just a few months before landing her dream job, Gabrielle’s health and wellbeing are on the line, and her promotion to editor-in-chief becomes the ultimate test of strength. In this collection of inspirational and searing essays, Gabrielle reveals exactly what it’s truly like in the fashion world, trying to find love as a young lesbian in New York City, battling with anorexia, and trying not to lose herself in a mirage of women’s empowerment and Instagram perfection.

Through deeply personal essays, Gabrielle recounts her struggles to reconcile her long-held insecurities about her body while coming out in the era of The L Word, where swoon-worthy lesbians are portrayed as skinny, fashion-perfect, and power-hungry. She takes us with her everywhere from New York Fashion Week to the doctor’s office, revealing that the forces that try to keep women small are more pervasive than anyone wants to admit, especially in a world that’s been newly branded as woke.

From #MeToo to commercialized body positivity, Korn’s biting, darkly funny analysis turns feminist commentary on its head. Both an in-your-face take on impossible beauty standards and entrenched media ideals and an inspiring call for personal authenticity, this powerful collection is ideal for fans of Roxane Gay and Rebecca Solnit.

Open Book Q&A:

1. What three celebrities/authors/figures- living or dead, would you want to have a book club with?

Michelle Obama, Octavia Butler, and Sarah Paulson.  

2. Current binge series?

I have binged all of television. There is nothing left for me to watch. 

3. Last favorite book?

I recently loved Anxious People by Fredrik Backman.  

4. What 3 things do you pack in your bag for your dream vacation?  Where is it?

Sunscreen, a bathing suit, and a very large hat. I’m going to a remote tropical beach. 

5. Sunday NYT or US Weekly?

I’m in a relationship with Sunday NYT, but definitely checking out US Weekly. 

6. Last movie you saw?

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom on Netflix. HIGHLY recommend. 

7. Book you read that you wished you wrote?

So Sad Today by Melisa Broder.

8. Do you have a teacher who encouraged you to become a writer?

In college I had a professor named Kathy Engel who I ended up doing an independent study with about feminist poetry. She really championed my writing and encouraged me to pursue it. 

9. Do you listen to music while you write? If so, who?

I actually need to complete silence to write. I get too focused on music if it’s playing. 

10. Describe your writing space?

I don’t really have one. Since I’ve always had busy day jobs I write where I can squeeze in a few minutes. Usually that means the subway, or these days, on the couch. 

11. Tell me your coffee/tea order?

Oat milk latte, please! 

12. Do you have a favorite book that you gift?

Currently gifting What Kind Of Woman? by Kate Baer.

13. Book that you wished they would make a movie out of?

Fledgling by Octavia Butler.  

14. If you could have one song as the theme song of your life what would it be and why?

“Everybody Wants To Love You” by Japanese Breakfast. I kind of already feel like it’s my theme song. It’s just so silly and sweet and catchy. 

15. Must-have beauty product?

Augustinus Bader moisturizer, which is also my most expensive product. But it’s so good that I don’t really buy anything else for my face!  

16. Royals- yes or no?  If so, who is your favorite?

No. But Megan is my favorite. 

17. Favorite Instagram account?

Round.boys. You’re welcome. 

18. If you could name just one lipstick after a book, what would you call it and what shade would it be? 

It would be a deep, dark red called Furies, inspired by Fates & Furies by Lauren Groff. 

19. Current #TBR pile?

Rape Is Not A Crime by Michelle Bowdler

Plain Bad Heroines by Emily Danforth

Black Futures by Jenna Wortham and Kimberly Drew 

20. Best advice you’ve ever received?

You’re never as stuck as you think you are.

Follow Gabrielle:

Twitter

Instagram

One thought on “Open Book with Gabrielle Korn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s