What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag? ~ Deb Caletti Edition

Deb Caletti is a writer for all readers.  Her back catalog of books has a little something for everyone: drama, suspense, love and friendship.  I am so happy to be able to feature her today and have her share her bag with us.  Her latest novel, out now, What’s Become of Her is a little bit love mixed with a whole lot of suspense.  It’s a must for your beach bag this summer and if you haven’t read her before I have included some of her others sure to be the best accomplice on vacation or in the sun and sand 😉

What's Become of Her

via Amazon ~

From National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti comes an emotionally riveting story of a woman falling for a man who may be hiding a dangerous secret—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah.

“Guilty people keep secrets.”

Isabelle Austen returns to her hometown on a small, isolated Pacific Northwest island to take over the family tourism business after the death of her mother, a disapproving parent and a hard woman to love. Feeling lost, Isabelle is also struggling with a recent divorce and wondering if she’ll ever come into her own. Then her life takes a surprising turn: The mysterious Henry North arrives on Parrish Island, steps off a seaplane, and changes Isabelle’s world forever. From the beginning, their relationship is heady and intense—then Isabelle learns of Henry’s disturbing past, involving the death of a fiancée and the disappearance of a wife. Suddenly Isabelle is caught between love and suspicion, paranoia and passion, as she searches for the truth she may not want to find—and is swept into a dangerous game she may not survive.

Praise for What’s Become of Her

“A darkly enchanting romance sinks into a thrilling cat-and-mouse game.”Kirkus Reviews

“Caletti elevates reader discomfort to the maximum in this nuanced suspense novel. . . . The plot builds to a surprising and well-developed conclusion.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“As Caletti combines literary fiction with suspense, she keeps readers guessing until the last page.”Booklist

“This is a lush, suspenseful read set in a sleepy seaside town, with both main characters using the locale (and each other) as a means to escape. Caletti’s strengths are all on display: the novel is carefully paced, the prose excellent, and the characters (and their ghosts and demons) are realistic and strikingly drawn. Each person’s motivations and reliability as a narrator are weighed and considered over the course of the novel, with expectations upended and reevaluated constantly. The build to the climax is relentless, tense and satisfying.”RT Book Reviews

“This is a fast-paced read, with exceptional moments of suspense.”—The Book Review

Praise for the novels of Deb Caletti

“Striking . . . well-written, strongly characterized and emotionally complex fiction.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review), on He’s Gone

“Caletti once again combines interesting characters, pitch-perfect dialogue, and an intriguing plot to tell a deeply memorable story. Her latest is a thoughtful exploration of love and marriage and the power of family and friendship to help along the way.”Booklist, on The Secrets She Keeps

Deb Caletti - What's In My Bag photo

What is your bag of choice?

This bag is The Sak’s Indio Leather Hobo.  I love any bag or satchel with leather that looks like a saddle, a baseball mitt, or an old library reading chair.  Leather with a history.  This bag has a cheerful, fun fabric inside, too.

What are your top favorite beauty picks?

*Güd’s Blood Orange Flower lotion – My favorite fragrance.  Refreshing, and delicious-smelling.

*Eos’s Vanilla Mint lip balm – Yum!

*E.l.f. Lip Exfoliator – A terrific find (and a super bargain), it’s like a sugar scrub for your lips.

What do you always carry in your bag/purse/carry-on for beauty products?

I’m a Clinique woman all the way, so I carry one of their little compacts, their Nearly Violet lipstick, and their awesome Airbrush Concealer.  Also, a sample size of my favorite perfume, Clinique’s Happy.  I believe in finding happiness everywhere you can, even in a sweet little bottle with an orange cap.

 

What are you currently reading?

I’m catching up with a short-story collection, “There’s Something I Want You To Do,” from one of my favorite writers, Charles Baxter.  My husband and I are also on a Jo Nesbø kick.  I have to read ahead of him, because he’s really bad at Reader Rule Number One: Don’t Get Excited And Tell Stuff You Shouldn’t.

 

And any other fun item/must-have that you always have with you?

*My library card!

*The super-handy Anker iPhone charger case.  It’s a bit heavy for me for everyday use, but I pop my phone into it when I anticipate taking lots of photos, using Google Maps, or heading anywhere battery draining, like on a mountain hike.

*Promo postcards of my books.

*Scünci hair bands.  First order of business after an event: put the hair up in a ponytail.

*A notepad and my favorite pens. This is an adorable fabric-covered one from World Market.  Pens: Uni-ball Roller.  If a good idea comes and I’m not able to type it in somewhere, these save me from drastic measures like writing on grocery receipts with a lipstick.

Caletti - Author Photo - credit Susan Doupé

via Amazon:

The Secrets She Keeps ~

From bestselling author Deb Caletti comes a beautiful and profound novel of three women coming to terms with love and marriage—sure to move and delight fans of Kristin Hannah, Liane Moriarty, and Anna Quindlen.
 
“You don’t grow up on a divorce ranch and not learn to take a vow seriously.”

When Callie McBride finds a woman’s phone number written on a scrap of paper her husband has thrown away, she thinks that her marriage is over. Callie flees to Nevada and her Aunt Nash’s Tamarosa Ranch, where she’s shocked to see that the place of so many happy childhood memories is in disrepair. Worse, Aunt Nash is acting bizarrely—hoarding stacks of old photographs, burying a book in the yard, and railing against Kit Covey, a handsome government park ranger who piques Callie’s interest.

But Aunt Nash may prove to be saner than she seems once Callie pulls back the curtain on Tamarosa’s heyday—the 1940s and ’50s, when high-society and Hollywood women ventured to the ranch for quickie divorces and found a unique sisterhood—and uncovers a secret promise Nash made to her true love. Callie will come to see is that no life is ever ordinary. No story of love is, either.

 

Essential Maps for the Lost ~

From beloved author and National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti comes a fresh and luminous novel about the grief that can tear us apart and the people who can make us whole again.

There are many ways to be lost.

Sometimes people want to be lost. Madison—Mads to everyone who knows her—is trying her best to escape herself during one last summer away from a mother who needs more from her than she can give, and from a future that has been decided by everyone but her.

Sometimes the lost do the unimaginable, like the woman, the body, Mads collides with in the middle of the water on a traumatic morning that changes everything.

And sometimes the lost are the ones left behind, like the son of the woman in the water, Billy Youngwolf Floyd. Billy is struggling to find his way through each day in the shadow of grief. His one comfort is the map he carries in his pocket, out of his favorite book The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.

When three lives (and one special, shared book) collide, strange things happen. Things like questions and coincidences and secrets, lots of secrets. Things like falling in love. But can two lost people telling so many lies find their way through tragedy to each other…and to solid ground?

 

He’s Gone ~ 

“What do you think happened to your husband, Mrs. Keller?”
 
The Sunday morning starts like any other, aside from the slight hangover. Dani Keller wakes up on her Seattle houseboat, a headache building behind her eyes from the wine she drank at a party the night before. But on this particular Sunday morning, she’s surprised to see that her husband, Ian, is not home. As the hours pass, Dani fills her day with small things. But still, Ian does not return. Irritation shifts to worry, worry slides almost imperceptibly into panic. And then, like a relentless blackness, the terrible realization hits Dani: He’s gone.

As the police work methodically through all the logical explanations—he’s hurt, he’s run off, he’s been killed—Dani searches frantically for a clue as to whether Ian is in fact dead or alive. And, slowly, she unpacks their relationship, holding each moment up to the light: from its intense, adulterous beginning, to the grandeur of their new love, to the difficulties of forever. She examines all the sins she can—and cannot—remember. As the days pass, Dani will plumb the depths of her conscience, turning over and revealing the darkest of her secrets in order to discover the hard truth—about herself, her husband, and their lives together.

*Thanks Deb for sharing your bag!  Find Deb here: www.debcaletti.com

Advertisements