Open Book ~ Alafair Burke

I am thrilled to have one of the best crime writers, Alafair Burke, on the blog today!  Her latest release, The Wife has been on all the top 2018 Must Read lists (EW, Washington Post, O Magazine) and was acquired by Amazon for film adaptation and Alafair is writing the script!  You all know I love a good page to screen collab!  Read below to see her dream book club- which is SO` good, her current reads and theme song for her life- one of my favorites 😉
WifeThefinal, 1.16.2018.jpg

via Amazon ~

His Scandal
Her Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look—at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

Alafair Burke, cr Deborah Copaken KoganWhat three celebrities/authors/figures- living or dead, would you want to have a bookclub with?

Sue Grafton, Kristen Bell, and Michelle Obama
 Current binge series?

The Crown

 Last favorite book?

 Favorite to me means exactly that.  My favorite book—still—is The Hours by Michael Cunningham

What 3 things to you pack in your bag for your dream vacation?  Where is it?

Swimsuit, laptop, and hat.  My favorite place is Anguilla.

 Sunday NYT or US Weekly?

Times.

 Last person you sent a text message to?

My husband, Sean.

 Book you read that you wished you wrote?

The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter

 Do you have a teacher who encouraged you to become a writer?

I had a 9th grade English teacher who had us journal in class.  It’s absolutely criminal that I don’t remember her name.

 Do you listen to music while you write? If so, who?

No music for me.  Background noise is fine, but I don’t intentionally inject sound.

 Describe your writing space?

I have a home office in two different places, one large, one small.  But I also write in hotels, on planes, in coffee shops, and on beaches.

 Coffee or tea?

Tea.  Iced.

 Do you have a favorite book that you gift?

No. Book taste is too subjective.  I only give books when I know for certain that it’s a good match for the person.

 Book that you wished they would make a movie out of?

THE WIFE.  I’m writing the screenplay now for Amazon Studios.
 If you could have one song as the theme song of your life what would it be and why? 

Got to Be Real by Cheryl Lynn.  Because it’s all got to be real, and that song always makes me happy.

What/Who inspires you?

Anyone who has a natural talent and puts hard work behind it.  I don’t cry at much, but when I see a truly magnificent performance of any kind—acting, singing, sports, any accomplishment—I’ve been known to lose it.

 Bravo reality TV- yes or no?

No, no, no.

 Favorite Instagram account?

gvbiscuitsandbath  It’s my dogs’ daycare account.  So many cute NYC dogs.

 If you could name just one lipstick after a book, what would you call it and what shade would it be? 

Sunburn, named after Laura Lippman’s new book.  A big, bold orangey red.

Current #TBR pile?

 Bonfire by Krysten Ritter; The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine.  And I’m excited for Michael Koryta’s new book, How it Happened, but I don’t have a galley yet (hint, hint, MK).
Best advice you’ve ever received?

Writing is a job, so treat it like one

 

Follow Alafair:

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s