What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag? ~ Nicole Waggoner

I have been a huge Nicole Waggoner fan since the first Circus of Women book, Center Ring.  She is a fellow beauty lover so we instantly clicked plus our love of books.  I was so thrilled to be able to take a peak at the second novel in the trilogy, The Act, before readers.  If you look closely at the end I may or may not be mentioned in the acknowledgements 😉  I was thrilled when Nicole shared her bag with me.  Read on because she has some great beauty must-haves and you will see she is more than just a fabulous author she is a beauty aficionado too!

15135460_10210054651314831_2039290638_n.png

via Amazon ~

The romance, the heartbreaks, the revelations, the friendship: THE ACT brings it all back and more as the sassy and stylish sisterfriends of CENTER RING face new challenges and old demons. Norah, Cami, Leila, Kate, and Ellie will need each other more than ever in this highly anticipated next installment of The Circus of Women Trilogy.

19369566_10211964459618845_557846497_n19251365_10211964380776874_299985343_n

What is your bag of choice?
Hello! Thank you for inviting me to talk bags, beauty, and books today! In the summer, I prefer small shoulder bags. I am currently carrying a Kate Spade Hobo in “Pebble”. Isn’t that a precious name for a color? It’s a light, airy, pinkish-tan. My briefcase is a McKlein in Mint. I highly recommend the McKlein to any woman who travels for work. It has been a dream and snaps right on to my carry on!
What are your top favorite beauty picks?  
I am fanatical about sunscreen. I use Elta MD every day. It is light, wears well under primer and make up, and never clogs my pores! Currently, I am using Naked skin foundation. I love its silky texture and the way it blurs light to improve my complexion…especially in pictures 🙂  Ofra is my very favorite eyeshadow and highlighter. Every pigment is gorgeous and makes eyes POP! My BFF recently gave me a set of LipSense lipstick and I was immediately hooked. Carmel Apple and Aussie Rose are my go to colors, but I have amassed quite the rainbow of shades!  Isn’t it great when a product outperforms your expectations?  Last, but not least, I have to rave about Stilla eyeliner. I was hesitant to try it because, well, I can’t draw a straight line with a ruler and didn’t want to wear Charlie Brown’s Chevron on each eyelid for twelve hours. Thankfully, the tip is superfine and hugs the lash line effortlessly. Stilla is so smudge-proof that I even used it to draw (somewhat poorly) Malificient eyes on my five-year-old for Halloween. I pair it with Better Than Sex Mascara and bash about my day, allergy eyes and all, with no traces of the dreaded raccoon bags. Before I found this product, I hadn’t worn mascara on my lower lashes since a short-lived Kate Moss phase in the 90s.
What do you always carry in your bag/purse/carry-on for beauty products? 
Sunscreen. Again. Both mine and my children’s for reapplication. We live in Oklahoma and spend a ton of time outdoors. I also carry matcha powder with me to mix into water and teas. Everyone else in my house thinks it tastes like feet, but I adore it. My daughter’s Beanie Boos travel in small herds and I am sure to have at least one in my bag at all times. This one is named Grayson because she has heard so many women comment on my ‘Patrick Grayson’ character at events, etc., and she quote “wanted a kind name that started with ‘G’. He is a boy giraffe and boy giraffes should always be nice to girl giraffes. If they’re not, the girl giraffes should run away super fast like a cheetah.” I usually have Prisma colors and table conversation cards as well. Other than that, I always keep a Sharpie handy to sign books. Every time we go to Target or Barnes and Noble, I always sign the copies on the shelf. I adore Indie bookstores and do the same in OKC. There are, unfortunately, none where I live.  I came across a signed copy of Austen’s Persuasion in a used bookstore once and have never forgotten the thrill! CVCBB Beach Wave spray is another bag staple for me. I swear it’s the only way I am surviving the “mullet phase” of growing out a pixie. My adorable make up bags from Bliss, Beauty, and Books ride in every bag I carry! I beam every time I open them! Thank you, again, for being so thoughtful! I carry journals in my briefcase, purse, and gym bag. I also keep one on my nightstand.  I have to write plot ideas down immediately or I will forget as soon as one of my little loves says ‘Mommy.”
What are you currently reading?
I am currently listening to Jane Green’s The Sunshine Sisters and reading In This Moment by Karma Brown. Lift and Seperate by Marilyn  (check spelling) is on deck, along with Donna Everheart’s The Education of Dixie Dupree.
And any other fun item/must-have that you always have with you?
Hand Sanitizer, Band-Aides, Mini Toothbrushes, Bookmarks, and collapsible reusable shopping bags with theatre quotes like “The play is THE thing.”

15310427_10210145159777486_210426847_n

Follow Nicole:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Leave a Reply

