What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag? 4th of July edition ~ Lisa Duffy

Happy 4th of July!  Time to celebrate and read a good book 🙂  I am so happy to have another local author and gal, Lisa Duffy on the blog sharing her debut book, The Salt House.  This is the perfect beach read or getaway book.  With rave reviews since its June release, The Salt House is a dramatic and emotional story that will hook you from the beginning, a must-read of 2017.

The Salt House cover

via Amazon ~

*Real Simple “Best Books of June”
*Refinery29 “Best Beach Reads of 2017”

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.

In the coastal town of Alden, Maine, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House—the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they’re renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn’t wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound.

A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends hours staring at her daughter’s ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart.

When Jack’s old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart—or be the path to their family’s future.

Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope

IMG_2945

  • What is your bag of choice?

I have a thing for hobo bags. I’m not picky about the designer–it’s all about the color anddesign, sort of a love at first sight type of thing.

 

  • What are your top favorite beauty picks?

My go to perfume is Lush’s Lust. They call it “Unabashedly carnal jasmine”. I’m stocking up on it just in case they ever decide to discontinue the scent. I’m also a hand cream junkie. The prettier the tube, the better. My sister-in-law introduced me to L’Occitaine’s Shea Butter and I’m loving.

 

  • What beauty products do you always carry in your bag/purse/carry-on?

I always have a tube/container of lip balm (or ten) at the bottom of my bag. I don’t wear lipstick, and I love clear (not sticky!) lip moisturizers. Lush’s Ultrabalm is my go-to because it comes in this cool tin, and it’s all purpose…feels great on lips and hands.

 

  • What are you currently reading (can be books/magazines)?

I just finished an ARC of Elise Hooper’s The Other Alcott. An excellent debut out this September about the untold story of May Alcott.

 

  • And any other fun item/must-have that you always have with you 🙂

I try to always throw my Kindle in my bag. It comforts me to travel with it so if I’m stuck waiting somewhere, I can always just use the time to relax and read.

Lisa Duffy credit © Tom Wheble

Thanks to Lisa for sharing her bag and make sure to pick up a copy of The Salt House!

Follow her here:

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

 

 

Leave a Reply

