What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag? ~ ‘Must-Reads for Vacation Edition’ with Kimberly McCreight, Sadeqa Johnson and Amy E. Reichert

To get us started for the summer season what better than a few picks that are perfect to pack into your carry on and crack open while vacationing!  Today I have three fabulous authors with books that have a little something for everyone.  Craving some secrets and betrayal then Kimberly McCreight‘s, The Scattering is a perfect choice.  Looking for some drama with a sprinkle of friendship and love then grab Sadeqa Johnson‘s, And Then There Was Me.  And last, if you love a heartwarming novel that has all the feels then Amy E. Reichert‘s, The Simplicity of Cider is a winner.  All three authors are on the blog today opening up their bags and chatting all things beauty and books.

Scattering HC C

via Amazon ~

New York Times bestselling author Kimberly McCreight raises the stakes in the second book of the heart-pounding Outliers trilogy, a uniquely speculative story about secrets, betrayal, and a world where one small group of people are blessed—or cursed—with an incredible power.

Wylie may have escaped the camp in Maine, but she is far from safe. The best way for her to protect herself is to understand her ability, fast. But after spending a lifetime trying to ignore her own feelings, giving in to her ability to read other peoples’ emotions is as difficult as it is dangerous.

And Wylie isn’t the only one at risk. Ever since they returned home, Jasper has been spiraling, wracked with guilt over what happened to Cassie. After all they’ve been through together, Wylie and Jasper would do anything for each other, but she doesn’t know if their bond is strong enough to overcome demons from the past.

It is amid this uncertainty and fear that Wylie finds herself confronted with a choice. She was willing to do whatever it took to help Cassie, but is she prepared to go to the same extremes to help complete strangers . . . even if they are just like her?

BBB bag

What is your bag of choice?

In fairness (to myself), I really have two. Because I live in Brooklyn and daily walk a long distance to the Brooklyn Writers Space with my computer, I wear a backpack (don’t judge me, my children already do). It’s from Brooklyn Industries. But when I go out, my favorite bag is a silver clutch handmade out of pull-tabs from soda cans that I bought at an outdoor market in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, which is a town in the South of France.

Writers live a very extreme public-private dichotomy. We are underworld mole people for months on end, where our hair goes unbrushed and we no longer recall what makeup is, only to suddenly find ourselves out on a book tour trying to remember how to walk in high heels. The good news is the novelty makes getting dressed up a lot more fun.

As for all my makeup recommendations below, my dark secret is that I am CLUELESS about such things. But I have my very dear friend Elena, from college, who has always been my personal makeup consultant. Without her, I wouldn’t know anything.

What are your top favorite beauty picks?  

I am obsessed with all masks and other facial products. Everyone should go run and buy Perricone MD Chloro Plasma Purifying Mask, Jurlique Rose Moisture Plus Moisturizing Cream Mask, and the Sephora Collection Eye Masks (all kinds are great). You can do it all in fifteen minutes once a week and it is amazing. Also, Dior Flash Luminizer Radiance Booster Pen makes all dark circles vanish in two seconds.

What do you always carry in your bag/purse/carry-on for beauty products?  

I always carry Laura Mercier Kohl Eye Pencil in Black Violet and YSL Gloss Volupté (in a color I will never find again because the label is gone), plus Bliss High Intensity Hand Cream. Also, spare earrings and hairbands. That way if I need to go somewhere unexpectedly, I can put my hair up, throw some earrings and lip gloss on, and maybe look halfway presentable.

What are you currently reading?

I always have a New Yorker with me and it is always old because I have a subscription and I am always behind on reading. I am also reading Girls & Sex by Peggy Orenstein (because, yes, I have a thirteen-year-old) and The Gypsy Moth Summer by Julia Fierro, a stunningly gorgeous novel which is out in June.

And any other fun item/must-have that you always have with you 🙂

I always have sunglasses, glasses, wireless headphones, and every charger known to man, as well as gum (usually in five varieties) and countless, countless Band-Aids (I am not sure why). I also have two dozen pens: I think I live in fear of wanting to write something down and not being able to. Oh yes, and my computer. My beloved (and lightweight) MacBook Air that I never leave home without. And last but not least I have a significant collection of lucky charms: a small box of lucky pennies I found, a magic lantern and frog—almost all courtesy of my daughters. Except the pennies. I will dive over people to pick one up. Heads only, of course.

Kimberly McCreight by Beowulf Sheehan

 

And Then There Was Me_COVER

via Amazon ~

Bea and Awilda have been best friends from the moment Awilda threw her fourteen year-old self across Bea’s twin-sized bed as if they had known each other forever. Bubbly, adventurous Awilda taught sheltered, shy Bea how to dress, wear her hair and what to do with boys. She even introduced Bea to her husband, Lonnie, in college, who pledged to take good care of her for the rest of their lives. But philanderer Lonnie breaks that promise over and over again, leaving Bea to wrestle with her self-esteem and long time secret addiction.

Recently Lonnie has plopped the family in a New Jersey upper class suburb, which lacks the diversity that Bea craves but has the school district and zip code envy that Lonnie wants. The demands of carrying a third child and fitting into this new environment while pretending that her husband is not cheating on her again, is more than she can handle. And just when she thinks things can’t get any worst, the ultimate deception snaps the little thread that was holding her life together and all comes tumbling down.

Sadeqa Johnson’s And Then There Was Me is the story of love and friendship, heartache and betrayal. It’s the journey of a woman stripped down to her lowest point and needing to find the will to press on.

SJ_Bag_1

What is your bag of choice?

I carry a Celine tote that is tough and durable. I can drop things in it and if something spills it wipes out easily. It was a Christmas gift from my husband. He buys all of my bags because he has way better taste than me. It’s a big bag so things are always sloshing around. Of course I carry the basics, keys (sometimes), a wallet that has a magnet so that I can attach my phone, a gratitude journal that dubs as a place to jot notes of any kind, Tic Tacs, phone charger, lip gloss, lots of loose change, Petco gift card (we just rescued a pit bull named Penny who has become the love of my life), and snacks. Always a granola bar, nuts and goldfish. With three kids someone is always hungry. When I’m on my A game I have a sharpie for those impromptu books I get to sign but I never have the stuff I need like postcards, book marks or business cards. I need to do better.

 

What are your top favorite beauty picks?  

I love natural care products. I often wear my hair in a wash and go style, so my must have leave-in conditioner is Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castrol Oil. That stuff is the truth! It leaves my hair shiny and full of body. I also like the Shea Moisture 100% Pure Argan Oil for a shine boost and to help control my frizz. I am the low-maintenance mom who runs around town barefaced with just a little lip gloss, the Sephora brand works fine. When I take the ten minutes to put on my face it is with a Nars Seychelles tinted moisturizer. It gives me that sun-kissed, just been to the beach, healthy look that I love. I top that with a liquid eye liner and Nars blush in Orgasm. When I am really painting the town pink, it’s all about the Ruby Woo matte lipstick from MAC. Fiery red lips always make it look like it’s my birthday even when it’s not. I’ve tried several high end mascaras but I always end up going back to Maybelline Great Lash in the pink and green bottle. Can’t help what works.

 

What do you always carry in your bag/purse/carry-on for beauty products?  

Baby wipes are a staple in my bag. They are the best invention since sliced bread and work for every situation. My little one needs her mouth cleaned before she gets on the school bus, the middle Diva needs a wipe down in between school and gymnastics practice, and my son always needs food dabbed from his shirt. Baby wipes are my lifeline. I personally need lip gloss. My lip gloss is popping for every occasion; the grocery story, school functions, the gym, and even when I’m running a half marathon — lip gloss is a must. I’m so obsessed that I keep a tube in every bag. When I was little my mother never let me leave the house without putting on my earrings so as a grown woman I never do. If by chance I forget, there is an extra pair of oversized silver hoops stashed in my bag because they go with everything.

 

What are you currently reading?

I am reading Anita Shreves’ The Pilot’s Wife. I know I’m late but it’s been on my list forever. I also just finished Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi, man talk about a book I wished I had written. On the go I like to flip through Runner and Yoga magazine, the articles motivate me to step up my workout game.

 

And any other fun item/must-have that you always have with you?

I’ve taken to carrying my laptop in my bag because with three busy kids I am an unpaid chauffer. I spend hours in the car waiting so I’ve just recently started writing in the car. Don’t judge me. It gets the job done, and you be surprised at where the imagination can travel sitting in front of a soccer field.

SadeqaJohnson3254b-web bl and white

 

 

the-simplicity-of-cider-9781501154928_hr

 

via Amazon~

Fall in love with The Simplicity of Cider, the charming new novel about a prickly but gifted cider-maker whose quiet life is interrupted by the arrival of a handsome man and his young son at her family’s careworn orchard by the author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie.

Focused and unassuming fifth generation cider-maker Sanna Lund has one desire: to live a simple, quiet life on her family’s apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin. Although her business is struggling, Sanna remains fiercely devoted to the orchard, despite her brother’s attempts to convince their aging father to sell the land.

Single dad Isaac Banks has spent years trying to shield his son Sebastian from his troubled mother. Fleeing heartbreak at home, Isaac packed up their lives and the two headed out on an adventure, driving across the country. Chance—or fate—led them straight to Sanna’s orchard.

Isaac’s helping hands are much appreciated at the apple farm, even more when Sanna’s father is injured in an accident. As Sanna’s formerly simple life becomes increasingly complicated, she finds solace in unexpected places—friendship with young Sebastian and something more deliciously complex with Isaac—until an outside threat infiltrates the farm.

From the warm and funny Amy E. Reichert, The Simplicity of Cider is a charming love story with a touch of magic, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Gayle Forman.

amy reichert

What is your bag of choice?

I received a gorgeous Kate Spade purse as a gift for my debut from a very dear friend. I use it everyday. Ever since, I love Kate Spade bags, though I have yet to buy one—though I do have my eye on a few.

What are your top favorite beauty picks?  

I swear by Jeffree Star’s matte liquid lip. I get more compliments when I wear it. My favorite shade is Gemini, with All Shook as a close second.

I love my Beauty Blender. I’ve tried a few knock offs, but they never give the same finish. I’m still searching for a less expensive option, so if you have a recommendation, I’m all ears.

Eucerin’s Aquaphor—I feel like this solves all my cracked lip/heel/elbow problems.

What do you always carry in your bag/purse/carry-on for beauty products?  

I don’t do a lot of touch ups on the road, but I always have a lip gloss of some kind. Currently, I have an IT lip stick and a Manna lip gloss. I also keep a pack of hair bands in my purse because I will eventually put my hair up and I need to be prepared since I always lose them.

What are you currently reading?

Every week I read Entertainment Weekly and The Week magazine—they keep me up-to-date on everything important from politics and pop culture. Plus The Week has a crossword and sudoku puzzle in each issue that I always try to complete. This time of year, I keep a few magazines in my purse to page through while at my son’s baseball games or my daughter’s lacrosse games. As for books, I’m currently reading THE ORPHAN’S TALE by Pam Jenoff—it’s amazing!

And any other fun item/must-have that you always have with you?

I always have my Costco card—you never know when you’re going to need 20 pounds of potatoes. Then there is the stack of Scoopie tokens from Culver’s, a Midwestern fast food restaurant. They come on kids meals and you turn them in for free scoops of frozen custard or more free kids meals. I have an embarrassing number of them.

1462306884879

 

*Thanks to the ladies for taking the time to open their bags and for the gift of their books.

Leave a Reply

