What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag ~ Abby Stern

TGIF!  Nothing better than a TGIF and in front of a long weekend.  To kick off this AH-mazing three day weekend I am beyond thrilled to have Abby Stern on the blog.  Her debut novel, According to a Source celebrated it’s book birthday this past Tuesday.  This book has it all- Celebs, Hollywood, a stunning cover.. can we say perfect beach read. Stern, a Hollywood insider and celeb reporter, has truly written a gem and clearly she is quite the “source” to do so.  Beware- her bag may cause you to take a second mortgage out on your house 🙂

9781250106797_FC (1)

via Amazon

Ella Warren loves her job working for celebrity news magazine, The Life, as an undercover reporter. Her evenings are spent using her alias to discreetly attend red carpet events, nightclubs, and Hollywood hotspots like the fabulous Chateau Marmont, where her eyes are always peeled for the next big celebrity story.

When Ella’s new Devil Wears Prada-type boss starts a not-so-friendly competition among the reporters to find an exclusive story or be fired, the stakes are higher than ever. But is being in Hollywood’s elite inner circle worth jeopardizing her friendship with budding actress Holiday Hall and her relationships with her boyfriend and her family? As the competition grows fiercer, her life becomes intertwined in a public scandal that may cost her everything.

A juicy, big-hearted novel about a young woman who loses herself in a fast-paced, glamorous world where finding your authentic self isn’t easy.

IMG_9936

What is your bag of choice?

Oh gosh, I love them all! All of the styles, all of the brands. It’s hard to choose! I think it’s important for every woman to have one nice designer investment bag (if possible) that will never go out of style. I also love Claire V.’s clutches. They come in a variety of fun solids and patterns (hello Leopard!). For everyday use, I love Cuyana. Their bags are high-quality leather but are very affordable so I don’t get worried throwing it around while I’m doing errands. Mine has worn very well and I love that they come out with new colors every season.

What are your top favorite beauty picks?  

For skincare, I’m obsessed with my friend Kat Rudu’s line, Kat Rudu Beauty. The line is pure biotic and it smells and feels amazing and makes my skin dewey. I love all of her products but the two I can’t live without are her Liquid Lift and her Jet Set Cream.

In terms of makeup, I love Jane Iredale’s loose mineral powder with a setting spray to enhance my dewey look. I need Clé de Peau concealer to help erase the late nights writing. I just got the new Dolce & Gabanna Miss Sicily lipstick. It’s the perfect mixture of pigment and sheer and gives my lips the perfect pop. I love the Concetta color and am going to have to stock up in case it’s a limited run.

I also cannot live without my Psssst! dry shampoo. When I’m too busy to wash my hair it’s a godsend and I always carry it around with me to keep the volume of my hair up after I’ve left the house.

What do you always carry in your bag/purse/carry-on for beauty products? 

I always have a good lip balm on hand and right now I’m loving this Kari Gran one. I also always have rollerball of the Marc Jacobs perfume (the original scent) on hand and a travel-size Psssst! shampoo.

What are you currently reading?

I just started The Arrangement by Sarah Dunn. I love her show American Housewife and I’m not very far along but I’m enjoying it a lot! After that I’m going to move on to The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro and am eagerly awaiting Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza’s new novel out in July, Fitness Junkie. My magazine reading has seriously been lacking lately, but I love The New Yorker and Vanity Fair and can always count on Cosmopolitan to entertain me.

And any other fun item/must-have that you always have with you 🙂

A snack and gum! I’m obsessed with these Iggy Chips because I can keep them in my purse. When I’m not writing I’m always running errands or stuck in traffic and not only are they portable but they’re healthy and guilt-free even though they taste like they aren’t. My favorite flavor is the Chocomelon which is  watermelon with cocoa powder and  chia seeds. I don’t even want to admit how many bags of these I go thru on a weekly basis. And of course, I gotta have gum for after my snack. I love the Orbitz Sweet Mint flavor.

170123_AbbyStern1958_Web

Follow Abby:

Twitter @abbystern

Facebook @abbysternwriter

Instagram @abbystern

*Thanks Abby for sharing your stunning bag and your beauty picks! My beauty list just grew! xx

Leave a Reply

