What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag? ~ Camille Di Maio

A long weekend is coming and what better to celebrate than lots of fun authors sharing their gorgeous bags!  To kick off this celebration I have the lovely Camille Di Maio, author of Before the Rain Falls, out now.  Di Maio, not only a beautiful fiction author, was a former real estate agent who left her career in the field to write full time, a choice that is so wonderful for us as readers 🙂  This latest novel intertwines the past, the present, family and love  so perfectly.  It’s sure to be a 2017 hit!

21734-DiMaio-BeforeTheRainFalls-FT

via Amazon ~

After serving seventy years in prison for the murder of her sister, Eula, Della Lee has finally returned home to the Texas town of Puerto Pesar. She’s free from confinement—and ready to tell her secrets before it’s too late.

She finds a willing audience in journalist Mick Anders, who is reeling after his suspension from a Boston newspaper and in town, reluctantly, to investigate a mysterious portrait of Eula that reportedly sheds tears. He crosses paths with Dr. Paloma Vega, who’s visiting Puerto Pesar with her own mission: to take care of her ailing grandmother and to rescue her rebellious younger sister before something terrible happens. Paloma and Mick have their reasons to be in the hot, parched border town whose name translates as “Port of Regret.” But they don’t anticipate how their lives will be changed forever.

Moving and engrossing, this dual story alternates between Della’s dark ordeals of the 1940s and Paloma and Mick’s present-day search for answers―about roots, family, love, and what is truly important in life.

File Mar 22, 4 10 59 PM

What is your bag of choice?- purse/tote/backpack and brand that you have?

I have been gravitating toward backpacks for a few reasons. They keep my hands free for the all-important tasks of holding hot coffee and wrangling children. I can also carry my laptop in them so that I can write at a moment’s notice. My favorite one is by Orla Kiely. I found it at an airport shop in Belfast Northern Ireland as I waited for a flight to Liverpool. I love its coated canvas material, it’s striking colors, and its ideal size. It’s not a brand often seen in the US, so I also love how unique it is!

What are your top favorite beauty picks?

If I had to choose only one kind of makeup for the rest of my life, it would be mascara.  Loreal is my favorite brand – I get so many compliments on my lashes!  I like Kat Von D liquid eyeliner in blue, which makes my eyes stand out. Erase Paste by Benefit is awesome for the inevitable dark circles and blemishes.  My daughter recently introduced me to beauty blenders and I’m wondering how I went so long without them!  I also keep a spare pare of contact lenses just in case I lose one – I would be lost without them!

What do you always carry in you bag/purse/carry-on for beauty products?

I have a great little Longchamp bag that is ideal for carrying around mints, lipstick, hair ties, and lipstick. I also like to include one of those round pop-up hair brushes for quick touch-ups.  I have long hair, so it’s a must!

What are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading an early copy of THE WEIGHT OF LIES by Emily Carpenter on my Kindle. It’s amazing Southern Gothic suspense.  I don’t normally read that genre, but this book might make me a convert.  My Kindle is a must-have piece in my bag.  I use ever spare minute to read. A five-minute wait in a grocery store line can get me through several pages!

And any other fun item/must-have that you always have with you?

I always carry pens, business cards with pictures of my books on them, and chocolate lollipops from See’s Candies.  The lollipops are long-lasting and satisfy frequent chocolate cravings!  Of course, my cell phone might as well be surgically attached.  My favorite feature is the camera and I’m amazed at the picture quality that can come from such a small device!  In another life, I would have been a photographer, so I love always having that at the ready.  I do have a super-ugly, utilitarian case, because I broke the glass too many times with the cute ones.

 

IMG_5186_8.5x11-791x1024

Follow Camille:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

*Many thanks to Camille for chatting with us today!

Leave a Reply

