What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag? ~ Jamie Brenner

Jamie Brenner is not only a fabulous author but she is a former beauty insider as well who shares the same love for beauty products, so basically my kind of gal.  I am currently reading and loving her newest, The Forever Summer, OUT TODAY!  It is the perfect “Pre-Summer” book cocktail.  I mean the cover alone is stunning and makes me long for salty beach hair and a golden tan.  I was thrilled when Jamie shared her chic black tote that has some amazing beauty products and believe me you will want to listen to her beauty recommendations as she is an expert ❤

Cover

via Amazon

Marin Bishop has always played by the rules, and it’s paid off: on the cusp of thirty she has a handsome fiancé, a prestigious Manhattan legal career, and her father’s hard-won admiration. But with one careless mistake at work, Marin suddenly finds herself unemployed and alone. Before she can summon the courage to tell her parents, a young woman appears, claiming to be Marin’s half-sister. Seeking answers, Marin agrees to join her on a soul-searching journey to Cape Cod, to meet the family she didn’t even know she had.

As the summer unfolds at her grandmother’s beachside B&B, it becomes clear that her half-sister’s existence is just the first in a series of truths that will shake Marin’s beliefs–in love, and in her own identity–to the core. Filled with shocking revelations, heartfelt romance, and resilient women banding together against the most unexpected twists of fate, THE FOREVER SUMMER is an emotionally resonant page-turner, and a delicious escape for any season.

IMG_0567

 

What is your bag of choice?

I always carry a purse. I found an amazing Cleo & Patek bag on sale in SoHo and it’s huge and easily fits all of my beauty products, laptop, and a book. I don’t like changing bags so I will carry the same bag every day and night endlessly unless I’m going somewhere really fancy and I’m forced to switch to an evening bag that is inevitably too small. And every time I switch bags I forget to bring something I need.

 

What are your top favorite beauty picks?

Laura Mercier matte translucent powder

Trish McAvoy gel eyeliner in Deep Aubergine

Nars lipstick in Shanghai Express

Organic lip balm from Violets Are Blue.

Zoya nail polish because it’s free of the harsher chemicals in other brands.

 

What do you always carry in your bag/purse/carry-on for beauty products?

I always carry my The Forever Summer cosmetics bag, of course! And it’s filled with enough make-up to cover the “What if” occurrence of getting caught in rains storm, all make-up washed away, and I have to start over from scratch. This has, of yet, never happened. But I believe in being prepared. So, I have my concealer, eyeliner, lipstick and translucent powder at all times. And moisturizer. And lip balm.

 

What are you currently reading?

An early copy of The Awkward Age by Francesca Segal and a biography of Peggy Guggenheim

 

Any other fun item/must-have that you always have with you?

I always have a hat. In the winter, it’s a knit hat from Free People. (And by winter, I mean any day under forty-five degrees.) In the summer, I carry a baseball hat to shield my face from the sun. Also in the summer I have this little fan device that plugs into my iPhone. It’s a lifesaver when stuck on a subway car with broken air-conditioning ☺

 

authorphoto

 

Follow Jamie here:

Twitter ~ @JamieLBrenner

Facebook ~ Jamie Brenner

Instagram ~ @JamieBrennerAuthor

 

*Thanks Jamie for the wonderful interview 🙂

Leave a Reply

