BONUS: What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag? ~ Cristina Alger

 

I figured we would all be struggling after a long weekend so hoping a BONUS post for the week will help brighten things up!  Who else than none other than one of my favorites, Cristina Alger, to show us her ridiculously beautiful bag and add some chic to our Tuesday.  Her latest book, which just came out in paperback, This Was Not the Plan was one of my favorites of 2016.  It is the perfect book buddy to accompany a glass of rose or tuck into a beach bag.  Cristina was so kind to let us peak into her Hermes (insert heart eyes) bag filled with gorgeous accessories and go-to mom must haves.

This Was Not the Plan paperback_High

via Amazon

From the acclaimed author of The Darlings comes a “funny, bittersweet, and ultimately uplifting look” (Sarah Pekkanen) at fatherhood, love, and family life.

Charlie Goldwyn’s life hasn’t exactly gone according to plan. Widowerhood at thirty-three and twelve-hour workdays have left a gap in his relationship with his quirky five-year-old son, Caleb, whose obsession with natural disasters and penchant for girls’ clothing have made him something of a loner at his preschool. The only thing Charlie has going for him is his job at a prestigious law firm, where he is finally close to becoming a partner.

But when a slight lapse in judgment at an office party leaves him humiliatingly unemployed, stuck at home with Caleb for the summer, and forced to face his own estranged father, Charlie starts to realize that there’s more to fatherhood than financially providing for his son, and more to being a son than overtaking his father’s successes.

At turns heartbreaking and hilarious, This Was Not the Plan is a “sparkling and heartfelt” (Bookpage) story about loss and love, parenthood, and friendship, and what true work-life balance means.

mybag

 

What is your bag of choice?

My bag of choice is my Hermes Evelyn bag. It was a big splurge and I still feel vaguely guilty about how much it cost, but I wear it every single day. It’s incredibly chic, goes with everything, and is, in my opinion, the perfect size. It’s also a cross body bag, which is great for a mom on the go.

 

What are your top favorite beauty picks?  

I am (and I mean this literally) a dry person. My hair, my skin, my sense of humor. As a result, I am a devoted user of Carmex, SkinCeuticals Overnight Dry Moisturizer, Frederic Fekkai Shea Body Butter, and Neutrogena Hand Cream. All my makeup is NARS. I love their sheer glow foundation and their matte lip pencil, which I like to wear layered under their lip gloss. Also, I have very fine blondish hair so I have to pencil in my eyebrows every morning or else it looks like I don’t have any. The best eyebrow pencil I’ve ever used is the mechanical one from Sania’s Brow Bar. It’s a magical product.

 

What do you always carry in your bag/purse/carry-on for beauty products?  

Carmex. Hand Cream. My Mason Pearson hairbrush (for both my daughter and for me – she’s very precious about her hair). I don’t wear a lot of makeup during the day, but at night I usually bring my NARS lip pencil and gloss with me. I don’t carry a wallet – too bulky! – just a metro card, some cash and a credit card, which I usually tuck in my back pocket.

 

What are you currently reading?

The early stories of Truman Capote. I can never get enough Truman Capote. IN COLD BLOOD is one of my favorite books of all time.

 

Any other fun item/must-have that you always have with you?

My daughter calls me “the snack lady” – I always have snacks! I also carry a strip of photo booth photos that my husband and I took at the Santa Monica Pier before we were married. Seeing my husband’s face always makes me smile. And a good scarf can jazz up any outfit. Except in summer, I’m never without one.

 

Cristina Alger_Photo Credit Deborah Feingold

 

Twitter: @cristinaalger

Facebook: Cristina Alger

Instagram: cristina.alger

 

*Thank you Cristina for opening your bag to readers!  It’s just as chic and fabulous as you are 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

