What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag? ~ Julie Pennell

I am SO excited to launch this new column on my blog.  For me, one of my favorite things to read in US Weekly is the “What’s in my bag” feature.  I love getting a little sneak peak into celebrities fabulous bags with their beauty favorites, snacks, current reads and go-to on the go goods.  I thought, I love hearing fun things about amazing authors, who are my version of a A-list celebrity so why not ask them what’s in their bags?  So I did.  I think when we get this mere glimpse into something as little as their bag we get a whole, new, fun view of them.  It makes them completely relatable and like US Weekly says “just like us” ;).  I am so lucky to be able to feature some amazing authors with fabulous books currently out or coming out.  First up is Julie Pennell, author of The Young Wives Club. (out now)

14409848_10101186738992838_8610767365913271967_o.jpg

via Amazon

In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives. 

Laura Landry’s quarterback husband was her ticket out of Toulouse. But when a devastating football injury sidelines him, they’re forced to move back to the small town she was so desperate to leave. As Brian starts drinking instead of rehabbing his knee, Laura must reevaluate what her future looks like…and if it includes her husband.

For years, Madison Blanchette has been waiting for bad-boy musician Cash Romero to commit to her. When wealthy George Dubois asks her out, she figures she may as well wait in style. Life with George means weekend trips to New Orleans, gourmet meals, and expensive gifts. At first she loves how George’s affection sparks Cash’s jealousy, but when George proposes to Madison, she finds herself torn between two men…

All Claire Thibodeaux wants is to be the perfect wife and mother. If she can do everything right she won’t end up like her mom, a divorced, single parent trying to make ends meet. But when Claire’s husband Gavin, a well-respected local pastor, starts spending late nights at work and less time in their bed, she can’t help but fear that history is about to repeat itself…

Gabrielle Vaughn never thought she’d end up with someone like her fiancé. The son of a prominent congressman, Tony Ford is completely out of her league—which is why she lied to him about everything from having a college degree to the dark truth about her family. She knows she has to come clean, but how do you tell the love of your life that your entire relationship is a lie?

As these young wives come together to help each other through life, love, and heartbreak, they discover that there are no easy answers when it comes to matters of the heart.

Julie was so kind to answer a few questions for me and showcase her stunning bag!

IMG_5020

What is your bag of choice?

I tend to carry around a lot of stuff, so bigger bags are preferable (gotta fit my books in something!). I most often stick to brown and black, but sometimes I’ll use one with a pop of color like this one my friend found for me at a sample sale in New York City. I love it because it has sort of a Mardi Gras look to it with the colors — being from Louisiana, I feel like I’m celebrating my home state when I have it!

 

What are your top favorite beauty picks?

I’m pretty minimal with makeup. I use MAC foundation and eyeliner, Physicians Formula blush, and Great Lash mascara from Maybelline — same thing every day. Although, on date night with my husband, I’ll swipe on some red lipstick!

 

What do you always carries in her bag/purse/carry-on for beauty products?

I can’t live without my C.O. Bigelow Rose Salve which I use as a lip gloss. 

 

What are you currently reading (can be books/magazines)?

I just started Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll. I’m excited to dive into it — I’ve heard such great things about it! As for magazines, I’ve been a big fan of Glamour and Us Weekly for a while, and recently started getting into home decor and food magazines. Martha Stewart Living and All Recipes are really fun, and as a huge fan of Fixer Upper and Joanna Gaines, I love The Magnolia Journal, too.

 

And any other fun item/must-have that you always have with you?

Since my book came out in February, I’ve had a hot pink Sharpie in my bag at all times just in case anyone wants their book signed. I get so giddy when my friends pull their book out at brunch that I end up writing like a yearbook-style paragraph to them with so many hearts and “Love you”s! Also I can’t go anywhere without my headphones. I’m obsessed with listening to podcasts. Some that I love are “Stuff Mom Never Told You,” “Coffee Break With NYWICI,” and “Invisibilia.” And I usually have a little notebook handy just in case I get an idea for something to write about. You never know when inspiration will hit!

 

Julie Pennell

*Thanks to Julie and Atria books for the interview and review copy of The Young Wives Club.

Advertisements

One thought on “What’s in my Bookish {Beauty} Bag? ~ Julie Pennell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s