The Goodbye Year by Kaira Rouda plus Author Q&A

The Goodbye Year

As most of you have probably seen many publications, websites and blogs have been sharing their perfect summer beach reads!  I am so happy to have found The Goodbye Year by Kaira Rouda because its just what the pre-summer season ordered.  It was my first novel of Rouda’s and most certainly won’t be my last.  Now on a side note I am a “Bravoholic” and am obsessed with all things Real Housewives and Bravo– it’s a guilty pleasure 🙂  So for me this book was like entering into the world of Bravo.  It was drama filled, steamy, dishy and filled with gossiping characters- basically the perfect mix for a fabulous book that I didn’t want to put down.

I am not going into a descriptive summary as there are so many stories and characters, I do not want to give anything away.  What I can tell you is the story is based in California and during the senior year for a group of students and their parents.  The parents are getting ready for them to leave the nest and thinking beyond as to what life will be when they leave.  Each couple along with their kids alternate in telling their perspective within the story.  All the families are going through their own issues but have to be strong for their kids to complete this year.  From affairs to divorce to young love, The Goodbye Year is hard to put down.  The characters are all so different but yet their stories pull together and form this seamless and emotional plot, which Kaira tells so well.  I promise you it is the perfect summer read as well as a great read for all those parents fearing the “empty nest”.  Read on below as I was lucky enough to ask Kaira a few questions about the book as well as about herself.  She gave a fantastic interview!

kaira

 

Bliss Chat with Kaira Rouda

1. Did the senior years of your children inspire The Goodbye year?  Did you feel the empty nest syndrome?

Yes, my youngest just finished his freshman year in college. I wrote this during his high school senior year . . . it is definitely inspired by my real life. And, I’m still adjusting to my empty nest. I think it takes time, at least for me it does!

 
2. There are so many characters and stories within the story.  How do you keep track when you are writing?  Do you have all of them in mind at first and then connect them?

I knew from the start of this story that it would be important to tell it from the voice of the high school seniors, and the parents. I started with families and the story unfolded from there!

 
3. Living in Laguna Beach do you come across juicy secrets and scandals like the ones in the book 🙂  If so were any of them inspiration in the book?  

Laguna Beach actually is a mellow, artistic and beautiful place to live. Juicy secrets are everywhere — usually behind the closed doors of people whose lives you think are perfect.

 
4. What would be one piece of advice to parents who are going through senior year with their kids?

Gosh, enjoy every moment. Give the gift of your presence. Remember it’s so stressful, especially first semester with college applications and the rest. The Goodbye Year speeds by, and the kids are graduating before you know it.

 
5.  As a writer, where is your favorite place to write?

My office, with my dogs around me.


6. Name 3 blissful things that you can’t live without?

my family, coffee, yoga – oh and the beach (sorry that’s four)


7. What is the first thing you do when you complete a book?

Smile. It’s really a great feeling.


8. What was the last book that you read?

I’m just finishing Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. Before that, Come Away with Me by Karma Brown. Great books.


9. While on tour what is a must-have beauty product in your make-up bag?

A hair tie. I’m constantly putting my hair in a pony tail, and then taking it down again. It’s a nervous tic, I think!


10. Are you looking forward to any books that are coming out in 2016?

I’m a big reader and the TBR stack next to my bed is eight books deep. There are so many great books out now and coming our way this summer.

Leave a Reply

