You Made Me a Mother by Laurenne Sala

mother_cover

Mother’s Day is almost here and I found the perfect book for new mom’s, old mom’s and any mom alike!  The absolutely beautiful and touching You Made Me a Mother by Laurenne Sala.  This book was first a poem written by Sala and then made into a video for Boba, the baby carrier company, which went viral and touched so many women’s hearts.  Sala went with the popularity of the video and teamed up with the whimsical and charming illustrator Robin Preiss Glasser– the master artist of the Fancy Nancy series.  The two created a book that is so warm and magical you can’t finish without misty eyes, in the best way.

authorpic_SALA

I am the mom of a two year old daughter, Chloe and one boy on the way.  The moments of joy trump the moments of questionable sanity, but boy its hard.  Its the hardest job I will ever have but the absolute best title I can call myself.  This book really depicts the realities of motherhood and reminds us with out all the crying, sleepless nights, gray hairs and terrible two’s we wouldn’t be who we are- Mothers.  These little beings made us that way.  This book is the perfect Mother’s Day gift, Baby Shower gift, book for any mother figure in your life, it will be loved by any one receiving it- guaranteed.  I was lucky enough to ask Laurenne some questions about the book and her writing process as well as some fun facts about her!  See below and try not to watch this video and not cry 🙂

 

  1. Growing up what was the relationship like with you and your mom?  

My mom was a single mom, so we were bestiestwo girls having fun in the Chicago suburbs. I really looked up to her when I was younger and thought she knew everything. She taught me how to work a toolbox and get things done without having to call on a man. We had fun, sang at the tops of our lungs in the car, and danced on Sundays to clean house. Then I became a teenager and hated her, but before that, everything was great!

 

  1. Moms are such inspiring figures in our lives.Who are some inspiring women in your life aside from your mom?

I learned to write within the ad industry, and there arent too many women in it! I havent had many female professional mentors until very recently when Robin Preiss Glasser, the illustrator of my book and the Fancy Nancy series, took me under her wing. Then, Lissa Price and Michelle Markel, two brilliant authors, came in to help me with this new career, and it has been a delight to be able to call on someone who knows the game and knows what I am going through right now.

 

I also look up to people who arent afraid to talk about their truths, like Brené Brown and Jill Soloway. Mainly, I am inspired by each one of my friends for their different lovely attributes. Its either their generous hearts or their zen attitudes or their assertiveness. My friends are all so great, and I am lucky to know them.

 

3.I know this was originally a poem, a beautiful one at that.  Moms were so in love with this message.  When you saw the responses to the video from social media how did that make you feel?

I was so absolutely shocked! I wrote the poem, and I didnt even know the video had been finished. Suddenly, I get a Huffington Post article in my inbox, and I got the chills.

I felt validated because I had been writing another book with the goal to make people feel,and it had just been rejected by a few agents. So, to know that I could make people feel made ME feel (happy tears and relief). And to know that I had really achieved the goal of capturing motherhood felt wonderful because Ive felt for a while now that Im ready to be a mom. Phew! It also meant I could hear the insights from other wonderful people (like my mom and cousins and friends) and turn them into something else, so that also felt greatlike maybe I can be a ghostwriter or write historical fiction. Ideas just opened up to me, and my mindset changed from being so hard on myself. I stopped telling myself I should probably quit writing and go wait tables.  

 

4.I know you are a speaker as well.  What type of talks do you give and what is your favorite part about speaking on such a great platform?

I talk about vulnerability and about how admitting who you really are can help open you up to things in life! I am so passionate about this topic that I started a storytelling show, Taboo Tales. I help people write out their stories and get them to release them on stage in front of a live audience. After seeing how being vulnerable has helped countless people, I started speaking about it at colleges. So far its been great, and Ive learned that most everyone is holding something in no matter how old they are and how taboo it is. This is a piece that explains how I got to that point. Its deep, so be warned.

 

  1.  As a writer, where is your favorite place to write?

I like to write in coffee shops with lots of plugs and nobody to kick me out if I stay too long.

 

  1. Name 3 blissful things that you can’t live without?

cuddling. real talk. reading books in the sun on the beach (with a friend and mimosas).

 

  1. What is the first thing you do when you complete a book?

When I complete reading a book, I love to look up reviews and see if others agree with me or not. When I complete writing a book, I either want to share it with someone or I dont. If I dont, its a bad sign.

 

  1. What was the last book that you read?

I read Laurie Halse Andersons Chainsand then Forgeimmediately after. I didnt realize it was a series, and I ran out to get the next one the very day I finished the first.

 

  1. While on tour what is a must-have beauty product in your make-up bag?                I’m looking for suggestions on how to be more of a make-up kind of girl. I bring some eye cream. Some Make Up Forever foundation. Some other creams… ? Help!

 

  1. Are you looking forward to any books that are coming out in 2016?

YES! Remember that trilogy I mentioned in #8? The third book has been promised for months, and its been stalled. I CANNOT WAIT! It must come out in October, or I will be forever lost.

Leave a Reply

