Lies and Other Acts of Love by Kristy Woodson Harvey ~ Author Q&A

Kristy Woodson Harvey_LIES AND OTHER ACTS OF LOVE cover art

Happy Friday blissful readers!  I had a great weekend submerged into the ever so delicious Lies and Other Acts of Love by Kristy Woodson Harvey.  If you have yet to read about this novel do yourself a favor and figure out a way to get this book ASAP!  It’s the quintessential southern love story mixed with family drama and southern charm.  Harvey is a southern girl herself and this shines throughout her words and characters.  The setting is picturesque and the people are just genuinely good people.  Grab yourself a glass of sweet tea and enjoy the sun as this book is sure to bring warmth to your heart and a smile to your face.

Annabelle is newly married to Ben, a gorgeous musician who is head over heels in love with her.  Ben was a rushed marriage as everyone thought Annabelle would take the safe route and marry Holden, the picture perfect southern gentlemen.  Annabelle couldn’t hide her true feelings for Ben and called off her engagement to Holden.  Her family wasn’t pleased with this decision but has accepted the happiness that Ben brings her.  Annabelle comes from a long lineage of women- aside from her Mom, she has strong 4 aunts and grandmother Lovey, who is the captain of this fierce female ship.  Lovey is Annabelle’s go to for advice and life navigating as Lovey and her husband D-Daddy are the portrait for a good, strong marriage.  D-Daddy’s health is failing and Lovey relies on Annabelle to take her to the place that they love, Martha’s Vineyard.  Upon returning back home Annabelle finds Ben in a compromising way causing concern for her marriage all the while Lovey and D-Daddy’s health is at risk.  Deciding to throw herself into her work, helping at her local church, she starts to take comfort in her pastor, Rob.  He is always there with good advice and support but will Annabelle see through that and maybe see something more?  As she starts to pick up the pieces in her life she reveals more secrets that change her life.  Told from alternating perspectives of Annabelle and Lovey, Lies and Other Acts of love will question how much we truly hide from our family in the name of love.

Kristy Woodson Harvey_Photo Credit-Jay Ackerman

This book was fabulous, plain and simple.  Kristy created a story that is deep and soulful and her southern voice shines through.  I loved the way her characters were so complex yet kept the story filled with light and hope.  This being Harvey’s second novel is a shock as she clearly is an author here to stay and will have so much more to offer.  I was lucky enough to ask her a few questions about the book and a few about her as well! See below 🙂

 

Bliss Chat with Kristy Woodson Harvey

Both of your books- Dear Carolina and Lies and Others Acts of Love have involved strong women characters.  Which strong women inspire you in your life? Certainly my family. My mom and aunts and grandmother, like the women in the book, are all very strong and inspirational, and I look up to them so much!

I know you are from the South, which is so beautifully depicted in this book, almost a character in itself.  I loved that you wrote about the Vineyard.  I am a Massachusetts girl 🙂  What made you write about the Vineyard and what is your experience there? It is a place I have visited many, many times, and, honestly, I was there while I was working on the book! So I figured why not put it in there! I did that in Dear Carolina too. When I was in New York and Palm Beach I just slid them into the story.

I loved the relationship between- Lovey, D-Daddy and Annabelle.  Did you grandparents play a part in the inspiration of this bond? I am extremely close with my grandparents and spent so much time with them growing up. They have been a huge influence on my life and the advice in the book, in particular, is something that has been passed down from my grandparents.

One of Annabelle’s struggles was deciding whether to follow her head or heart.  Do you prefer one over another when making decisions in your life?  How do you know when to trust one over the other? I’ve always been pretty intuitive, so I make a lot of decisions with my heart. My head always gets to weigh in but I think so many of life’s biggest decisions really can’t be reasoned out. They have to be felt.

As a writer, where is your favorite place to write? Anywhere with a water view. We have a place on the coast, and I just love being there, at my beautiful desk, looking out over the waterway. It’s so calming!

Name 3 blissful things that you can’t live without? Chocolate, baths and champagne!

What is the first thing you do when you complete a book? Start the next one. Haha! When I’m finished with one I usually have another that has been fighting for my attention for quite some time, and I’m so excited to be able to give it some attention. There’s usually a lot of the answers to number six as well!

What was the last book that you read? The last book I read was The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy Reichert. Fabulous book! Right now I am reading The Nest and Big Magic.

While on tour what is a must-have beauty product in your make-up bag? A very moisturizing face lotion. My skin gets really dry in hotels, and I think when it’s moisturized it keeps me from looking tired.

Are you looking forward to any books that are coming out in 2016? I can’t wait to read Brandi Granett’s Triple Love Score! And Love, Luck and Lemon Pie from Amy Reichert. I’m sure there are dozens and dozens of others as well!

 

*Thanks to Berkley/Nal for sending Bliss, Beauty and Books a copy for review!

2 thoughts on “Lies and Other Acts of Love by Kristy Woodson Harvey ~ Author Q&A

Leave a Reply

