Come Away With Me by Karma Brown

KarmaBrown.jpg.png

Sometimes you just read a book that takes your breath away.  This book for me was Come Away With Me by Karma Brown.  Not only take it take my breath away in the sense that it was so beautiful and moving but also because I ugly cried until I was gasping for air.  Yup, that was me.  My husband had no clue what was going on, which was comical, but a book has never done that to me so he was confused 🙂  This is a book that will stay with me for a while.  Beautiful settings, raw characters and consuming pages is exactly what Karma Brown writes as she tells this touching story.

Gabe and Tegan are the perfect couple- in love, family oriented and great jobs.  In an instant that all changes.  They are both involved in an horrific car crash taking the life of their unborn baby.  Tegan, stricken with debilitating grief, starts a downward spiral of shutting people out and self medicating.  Clearly worried for her, Gabe and her family decide she needs to get out and start living.  Gabe decides they should grab into this jar they started of things they must do together during their lifetime.  Their choices take them to Thailand, Italy and Hawaii, all having significant meaning to them.  Each destination stirring up emotions and forcing Tegan to deal with this tragedy all the while solidifying the love between the two of them.

I do not want to get too much in to detail about the book as I do not want to give out any spoilers.  I will tell you its completely not what I expected and that in the end was a good thing.  As much as I was ugly crying in the end it was so many emotions in one.  Brown made me feel like I knew Tegan and Gabe.  The story creates such a bond between reader and characters and that I believe is a hard task to do.  Brown does it flawlessly.  This book will go on my list as a must read for friends and favorite forever.  I have been calling it “devastatingly beautiful” because through the tears I saw how beautiful this love was.  Just take my word for it and read this book, you absolutely will not be disappointed.  Promise 🙂

Leave a Reply

