I Take You by Eliza Kennedy #lilyandwill

I Take You

Get your beach bags ready and make sure this book is in it!  I Take You by Eliza Kennedy is the perfect read to start the sizzling summer reads that always debut this time of year.  I could’ve drank this book up in one sitting like a delicious margarita but I wanted to pace myself and savor.  I am finding myself reading lots of debut novels and Kennedy did not disappoint.

I Take You centers around Lily Wilder and her fiancée Will.  The setting is the beautiful and HOT Key West, FL (a place I have always wanted to go).  Lily is an attorney who has a love for sleeping around.  Yes I know, how could you take a liking to someone who sleeps around while engaged?  Lily Wilder is an exception to the rule.  Flawed and frustrating she is like many other women out there questioning settling down with “THE ONE”.  She loves Will and knows he is perfect for her but can’t grasp the idea of being monogamous.  While trying to be the bride-to-be, she indulges in the Key West nightlife with her confidant and bestie Freddy.  The two had me laughing out loud thinking of relationships with my own best friends.  The cast of characters are lively and colorful and kept the pages turning.  Woven throughout the story is Lily’s career as a lawyer and the complexities of a case that she is working on during this hectic wedding planning.

I Take You is much more than a fun, breezy read.  Lily and Will are both strong characters with lots of depth and heart.  The relationships between friends and family are the heartbeat to the book.  Pick this book up to escape your daily struggles and get taken away!  I can not wait for more from Eliza Kennedy and would love to see where Lily and Will end up!  Sequel anyone?

Eliza Kennedy

*I Take You was sent to Bliss, Beauty and Books for review purposes.

Leave a Reply

